# **Continuing Medical Education**

## Licking Memorial Hospital INDEPENDENT LEARNING ACTIVITY Enduring Materials

#### **LEARNING OBJECTIVES**

At the conclusion of this session learners will be able to:

- Describe the basic neurobiology of addiction
- Apply this understanding to check personal biases toward individuals with addiction
- Identify stigma and personfirst language
- Recognize your role in reducing the harmful impact of stigma on patient care

Release: 8/2021 Expiration: 8/2024 Target Audience: All Providers and Healthcare Partners Medium: Recording of live conference Estimated Time of Completion: 1 hour No copyright

# "Neurobiology of Addiction, Stigma and Person-First Language"

### Guest speaker Julie Teater, M.D.

Medical Director of Addiction Medicine The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center

## Orman Trent Hall, D.O.

Addiction Medicine Physician The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center

**Learner Participation Threshold:** To obtain **AMA PRA Category 1** credit, the participant is required to listen/watch the recording in its entirety, complete the pre and post test and evaluation and return this to the CME Coordinator in the Medical Staff office.

<u>Accreditation</u>: Licking Memorial Hospital is accredited by the Ohio State Medical Association to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

**Designation**: Licking Memorial Hospital designates this enduring activity for a maximum of **1 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit**<sup>™</sup>. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

#### Speaker Disclosure:

Julie Teater, M.D. and Orman Trent Hall, D.O., faculty and planner for this educational event, has no relevant financial relationship(s) with ineligible companies to disclose.

Planning Committee/Reviewers Disclosure: Craig Cairns, MD, Chair; Bashar Alawad, MD; Emilia Anigbo, MD; Audrey Bennett, MD; Garth Bennington, MD; Joseph Fondriest, MD; Rosita Frazier, MD; Frances Horenstein, MD; Timothy Lifer, DO; Henry Lu, MD; D'Anna Mullins, MD; David Subler, MD; Mary Torchia, MD; Elizabeth Yoder, DO; Sara Rochester, MD; Elizabeth McIntosh, M.D.; Jean Glaser, RPh, PharmD, Director of Pharmacy; Nathan Adamson, Director of Infection Prevention; Brian Thatcher, Director of Process Improvement and Quality; Kim Frick, Process Improvement Specialist; Lorei Reinhard, Director of Laboratory and Oncology Services; Stephen Gombos, Laboratory Manager; Angela Wallace, Director of Surgical Services and Jessica Adamson, CME Coordinator; planners, reviewers, faculty for this educational event, have no relevant financial relationship(s) with ineligible companies to disclose. These committee members are not personally compensated for their role.